Blessings

I have this saying I tell myself when my children are testing my patience as a parent. “Children are a joy and a blessing from God.” Sometimes I have to say it just once and other times, like yesterday morning, it’s repeated over and over again.

Brady, my oldest son, decided to test his mother’s patience yesterday morning. He was in a mood and caused a whole lot of drama before we headed out to the beach.

It was definitely one of those moments where I question how I’m doing as a parent. Have I not disciplined them enough? Or too much? Have I just totally spoiled them rotten? Am I missing the boat on this parenting thing completely?

We ended up heading down to the beach after some not so pleasant words had been exchanged between mother and son.  I had promised Brady I would help him build a sand village. We worked on it and gradually, in front of the beautiful ocean,  the morning frustrations wore off. He had built several little buildings before making a big one at the front of his village when he asked “Mom -can you make me a cross with these sticks? This is my village’s church”.

Looking at the little church, I smile and kiss my oldest child on the head. He is not perfect. I am not perfect. We are both far from it. But we are trying. His little sand church, in his little sand village, gives me hope that we are both going to turn out OK.

 Romans 15:13 May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.

Leave a Reply

