Loud and Proud

Driving home last night, I had the radio on and was singing a favorite song as loud as I could. I guess I was caught up in the moment of worshiping the Lord. My moment was short lived however.  Brady, my sweet-but sarcastic- 10 year old started groaning. “Mooommmm, you are singing wayyy too loudly!”

I get that a lot. Especially from my family. Singing has always been my thing. OK OK. It’s not my thing that I’m good at ( I guess I can be a tad bit tone deaf at times) but it’s still the thing I love to do with all of my heart.

There is nothing more joyful than singing for the Lord. I probably sing too loudly in church, but I don’t care about that either. Jesus loves my singing and that’s all that matters. My boys and husband might groan, but I catch them singing and humming too sometimes. The boys will also sing along with me at rare moments and there is nothing more precious in this world than listening to your little boys sing about Jesus. Trust me, it’s so much better than listening to them sing about money or girls. You know the things 8 and 10 years need to be worrying about at their age-money and girls.

It took me a while to realize Jesus wants us to sing for Him as a way of giving glory to Him.  When we go to church and sing, it’s not about us singing for ourselves.  Even if we really, really love the song. We are singing for Him. He’s listening to us. Sure I might sound like a wounded animal, but to Him, I bet it sounds like a beautiful symphony. Right? OK I will just keep telling myself that. No, but really, He does delight in our offering of song. So I’m going to keep on singing. Loud and Proud. 😉

Dear Paige, Remember your singing is a way of serving the Lord.  Your song is an offering to Him.  It’s not about how good or bad you sound, it’s about honoring Him with a joyful heart. 

Psalm 104:33  I will sing unto the Lord as long as I live: I will sing praise to my God while I have my being.

3 thoughts on “Loud and Proud

  1. You should come to choir practice at 9 to see what God does with us for 11. Leaving choir practice, I sometimes want to listen to the one who brings me down with, “wow, that was really bad, perhaps you should just go home sick.” But He is faithful and it is an amazing testimony of faith when you sing to praise the one who made you.

    Luke 19:40 always encourages me that no matter what sound I hear, the Lord covers me to what people need to hear. I just need to be obedient.

    Luke 19
    37 As he was drawing near—already on the way down the Mount of Olives—the whole multitude of his disciples began to rejoice and praise God with a loud voice for all the mighty works that they had seen, 38 saying, “Blessed is the King who comes in the name of the Lord! Peace in heaven and glory in the highest!” 39 And some of the Pharisees in the crowd said to him, “Teacher, rebuke your disciples.” 40 He answered, “I tell you, if these were silent, the very stones would cry out.”

    Psalm 71:8 My mouth is filled with your praise, and with your glory all the day.

    Choir would love to have another rock 🙂

    Like

  2. Your singing makes me smile! Especially when we are in the car together! I drove up to work without realizing that my windows were down this week and had some people staring…haha!

    Looking forward to our next time in the car together so we can both be tone deaf and worship our God no matter what others think!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

