Crossing Guard

I ran a ton of errands yesterday for different events that are going on in my life. Running in and out of stores, fretting around, worrying about getting the right party supplies or travel items. It was just one of those days. During my running, I encountered some really, really nice people. In fact, I had pleasant conversations with every cashier I encountered.  We talked about the weather, the party I was planning, the trip I was going on etc. They really were just delightful women who seemed to be taking pleasure in their work.

When I arrived home, I thought about how I go out every day and meet (mostly) pleasant people and talk with them about the weather or other mundane things that are happening in my life, but I don’t ever talk to them about Jesus.

Then I thought about how I wear my cross around my neck devotedly. I love my cross (See The Knot in My Cross Post), but why am I even wearing it if I don’t share my love of Jesus to others? Is it pointless?

Am I a crossing guard? Or am I guarding the cross?

Think about what crossing guards do. They help people get from one end of the street to the next. I need to be helping people get from one side of the street to the next too. From this world to His world.

But nope. I’m guarding the cross. I wear it around my neck and go out into this world and don’t say a thing. Why? Fear for the most part. Fear of rejection. Fear of being looked at like I’m a freak. Fear that I will be laughed at. I could go on and on.

You know all the same fears the Apostles had, but they ended up doing it anyways. Because they were following a command. A command to go out and make disciples of all men. They endured much worse than I can ever even fathom, but they still did it.

Dear Paige, stop being afraid. Put your big girl pants and start really spreading His word. Who cares what other people think? Remember, just as your remind your children daily. We aren’t living for this world. We are living for His. 

Mark 16:15  “And He said to them, ‘Go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature.’”

2 thoughts on “Crossing Guard

  1. Iwasgoingtotrytoresondandthenrememberedthatmykeyboardisjackedup.owell,anywaysgoingoutintotheworldandbeingspiritledidothinkislivingforHim.LetsTalkAboutHimMuchAndReadAboutHimEvenMore:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

