Switching Channels

A few months ago, after having just finished a bible study on God’s gifts, I felt He was guiding me to share my connection to Him with others. I don’t think I am the greatest writer in the world, but I do know I tend to get my message across better when I write. Talking about personal things makes me nervous,  words tend to get jumbled and I sound a little bit like Porky Pig.

I kept asking God what he wanted me to write about. Did he want me to be really ambitious and write a book? A magazine article? I write magazine articles on non-faith topics so that wouldn’t be too much of a stretch? I just couldn’t figure out what He wanted me to do. Truthfully, even though I know writing my thoughts is better for me, I was still nervous and anxious about it.   I kept going back and forth with Him about my fears and obviously, there was no writing happening. Finally, one morning after the same conversation had been going on for a few weeks, He decided to answer me with three little words, “Just write Paige.”

Do you think our fears get in the way of our conversations with Him? What about our egos? It can be hard to filter through all of that mess to hear His voice clearly.  It took me weeks to finally hear Him. I was reading my bible and praying daily, but I was still letting fear get in His way. Obviously, He finally just spoke louder, but it really made me wonder how many other times have I let fear interrupt or block out His words to me?  It was a valuable lesson for me to remember.

Dear Paige, Learn how to decipher His voice through all of the static. When you think He is not answering you, switch the radio dial from the Fear channel  to the Him channel.  Don’t let your fears get in the way of what He truly wants to say to you. 

Luke 11:28  He replied, “Blessed rather are those who hear the word of God and obey it.”

3 thoughts on “Switching Channels

  1. a sign of being filled with the spirit and total surrender to Jesus is not only changing the channel on the radio but changing the channel on our social life. I did, because we are all a product of our environment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I feel like I need to write this on my mirror:

    “Learn how to decipher His voice through all of the static. When you think He is not answering you, switch the radio dial from the Fear channel to the Him channel.”

    BEAUTIFULLY SAID!

    Like

Leave a Reply

