Seesaw

I would like to think (and pray) that my youngest child, Eli, is going to be a preacher one day. He is so full of life and passion and goes 100 miles an hour at all times. My little firecracker takes a bite out of life and lets the juices flow. While he can sometimes be a little devil, his sweetness shines through with his love for Jesus.  Eli loves Jesus like he loves life, fervently and to the fullest.  When he was in kindergarten we gave him the name Playground Preacher because he was trying to save lost souls during recess.   Passionate and unwavering, Eli wants everyone to know Him like he does and doesn’t understand when they don’t.  Yesterday, while watching the Pixar movie Inside Out, his brother Brady asked him if he really thought we had voices in our head. Eli’s immediate reply? “Umm yeah Brady. God.” There’s no doubt in his head!

Speaking of Brady, my oldest and more reserved child, thinks about Jesus a little differently. He loves Him and has accepted Him into his heart but he definitely has his questions.   Almost ten, he is learning about the world and, with that, he naturally wonders why certain things happen and why others are less fortunate than him.  His father and I try to answer these questions and guide him with a Christian love and perspective but, just like we did, he will have to go through his own journey with the Lord. As Brady begins his walk, we just want him to know that Jesus will always love him, no matter what questions he may have.

I wish I could say I wake up like Eli every morning. With a steadfast love all of the time. There are some mornings I wake up and I do have the same fire Eli has. Jesus is right beside me and in my heart. Other mornings, I am more like Brady, questioning and pondering. Trying to figure out what it all means.  Our faith can be like a seesaw sometimes, up then down, down then up. The funny thing about questioning is when I do start to question, He somehow shows me His presence. Whether it’s  a sweet prayer text from a dear friend, a verse my bible just happens to open to, or a devotion that is speaking exactly to me, He knows what to do at exactly the right time.

Dear Paige, Remember you have chosen to walk with Him.  Not by yourself and not with anyone or anything else.  You are becoming more attuned to His answers because of this choice. He will keep stoking the flames and He’s not going to let them burn out.

Hebrews 11:6 And without faith it is impossible to please him, for whoever would draw near to God must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who seek him.

Leave a Reply

