Right God?

My 7 year old likes to ask a lot of questions about a lot of things. Whether it’s about the Orioles (Go O’s!) or what’s on the menu for dinner, Eli is constantly trying to figure out what is going on in the world around him. Fitting for a child that came out of the womb with his eyes wide open, trying to take in every single thing that he could.

Another funny thing about Eli is that he usually answers most of his questions himself. He just wants to talk them out and then his little brain starts working to figure out an answer. “Do you think Mannie Machado will hit a home run? Yeah he will probably hit 3”

Eli also wants to constantly make sure I am listening to his questions. This requires him to end every single sentence with two words-“Right Mom?” He probably says “Right Mom?” at least 100 times a day, if not more. He wants to make sure I am paying attention to him and validating his answers. It gives him great comfort to know that I think he’s important and that I agree with what he is saying.

How many times a day do I do the same thing? Not with my own mother, but with the Greatest Power? I have noticed that as my walk with Him gets stronger, I am asking the exact same question Eli is asking.

“I probably shouldn’t say that about someone. Right God?”

“I probably shouldn’t go watch that movie. Right God?”

“I probably should go spend some quality time with my boys instead of watching Netflix. Right God?”

As I spend more time in His word and yearn to be in constant conversation with him, I realize that I am just like Eli. I am checking to make sure that what I am doing is right with the Man upstairs. Do I do it enough? Absolutely not. Do I shut him out sometimes for my own selfish ways? Of course. BUT- I have noticed that my “Right Gods?” are replacing the “Right Paiges?” more and more. It’s a good thing. I am being convicted everyday to be more like Him. But just like Eli wants my constant approval, I yearn for Jesus’s constant approval and validation.

Dear Paige, You tell Eli everyday that you love him and there is nothing he could do that would stop that. Jesus tells you this everyday too. He tells you through scripture, through prayer and by dying on the cross for us. The closer you grow to him, the clearer it will become. He is always “Right” with you and you are always “Right” with him.

Zephaniah 3:17 The LORD your God is in your midst, a mighty one who will save; he will rejoice over you with gladness; he will quiet you by his love; he will exult over you with loud singing.

Leave a Reply

