Comfort Zones

Math is not my thing. I can barely add or subtract. Let alone multiply and divide. Science? Even scarier. Technology? Well let’s just say that I am great at searching for things on Google but my skills beyond that are pretty limited.

Knowing all of this about myself,  I am not sure what I was thinking when I signed up to be a camp counselor at a 4 day STEAM (science, technology, engineering, art and math) camp this summer. I  started sweating the moment I received my lesson plans at orientation.  This girl, who can barely twist in a light bulb or adjust her thermostat, is expected to teach a bunch of 3rd, 4th and 5th graders how to create things like a mock defibrillator and a working pinball machine made just out of cardboard? Ahhhhhh. I’m sweating,  seriously sweating. I’m just praying there are some really smart kids participating who will take pity on me and help their not so bright teacher out a little bit.  This is so not my thing.  But because I have promised my students a great experience, I will do everything I can to make this an outstanding week for them.   I will pour over the lesson plans repeatedly and watch the DVD instruction videos a gazillion times, preparing myself. I will go in early and stay late if I need to.  I might be anxious and uncomfortable but I will plow through it and try and do it right.

As a teacher I work hard to please my students, even when I am 20,000 miles outside of my comfort zone. But do I act the same when I am outside of another comfort zone? My Christian comfort zone? Why  is it so difficult for me to please Jesus even when I am  just 5 miles out of that area? I like my zone.  It’s safe. It’s warm. It’s loving.  You know who is ready for me to start  packing my bags? Jesus.

He doesn’t want me to get too comfy. Ever.   He has a map in hand and is ready for me to start walking. He wants me to get my hands dirty. He wants me to speak up about my faith to family members (5 miles) or to start sharing the gospel with nonbelievers (20,000 miles). If I am so determined to give it my all for others then why can’t I give Him my all PLUS more?

Dear Paige, It’s time to roll up your sleeves. Do the hard stuff.  Arm yourself with the right tools to do His work in more than just a mediocre way. Step outside of your comfort zone as a Christian.  Share this blog with your non-believing friends. Talk to that stranger who admires your cross in the checkout line. Shine your light on others in every possible way as a reflection of His love.

You never know, that place you imagined was once so uncomfortable might end up being the most gloriously content and peaceful place you have ever been to. Kind of like being  at the foot of a cross, in Calvary, on a hillside, where all your sins were forgiven.

Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who has no need to be ashamed, rightly handling the word of truth.

2 Timothy 2:15

Leave a Reply

