When The Music Starts To Fade

I love my morning drives to work. I crank up my music and praise Him as loud as I can, ready to start my day. I have hundreds of songs on my IPhone but I also enjoy listening to a certain Christian radio station every morning. Their songs get me motivated to make it through my day with him. They give me hope and motivation that with Him, I can conquer it all. Recently I have noticed a funny thing starts to happen to my radio the closer I get to work. It starts fading out. The music is replaced with static and I can’t sing along with the words anymore. I get frustrated and sometimes switch to another non Christian channel annoyed that my morning praise session is being interrupted by bad reception.

Another thing also starts to happen the closer I get to work. I start to get a little further away from Him. One moment I am singing his name, feeling as close as ever to His presence and the next second I am concerned about who might hear me in the parking lot. One moment I can feel Him by my side and the next moment I am worrying about a certain teacher’s attitude or lessons I have not planned yet.

It’s not just the static on the radio that is interrupting my walk with Him. It’s the static of this world. During the day my walk with Him is interrupted constantly. So much sometimes that I feel like He has slipped away for a while and won’t return until I am home, in bed and ready to speak to Him again.

Dear Paige, His presence is by your side always. He is always there and has not slipped away. You just need to sift through the other radio channels and set your dial squarely on Him. His song is always playing, even through the static. You just need to be still and listen to it.

Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.

Colossians 3:2

Leave a Reply

